Ethiopian Biodiversity Institute (EBI), under the guidance of the Director General and Deputy Director General, carries out tasks in eight research directorates, nine administrative directorates, seven biodiversity centers, two botanical gardens and one duplex gene bank.

Director General

Melesse Maryo (PhD)
Director General
Emailmelessedevid@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-464019
Tel.: +251-116-511734; +251-116-615607

Deputy Director General

Feleke Woldeyes (PhD)
Deputy Director General
Emailfelewoldegamo@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-930-069201
Tel.: +251-116615810

EBI Core Directorates

Animal Biodiversity Directorate

Tesfu Fekensa (PhD)
Director, Animal Biodiversity Directorate
Emailtesfuaau@yahoo.com
Mobile: +251-911-713528

Crop & Horticulture Biodiversity Directorate

Wubeshet Teshome
Director, Crop & Horticulture Biodiversity Directorate
Emailwubeshet.teshome@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-911-055024

Forest & Range Land Plants Biodiversity Directorate

Abera Seyoum
Director, Forest & Range Land Plants Biodiversity Directorate
Emailabera.seyoum@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-911-098063

Genetic Resources Access & Benefit Sharing Directorate

Dr. Abiyot Berhanu
Director, Genetic Resources Access & Benefit Sharing Directorate
Email: abiyotmulu@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-120725

Microbial Biodiversity Directorate

Zerihun Tsegaye
Director, Microbial Biodiversity Directorate
Emailzerihun.tsegaye@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-936-451046

Branch Centers and Stakeholders Directorate

Girum Faris
Director, Branch Centers and Stakeholders Directorate
Email: girumf@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-858682

Research, Dissemination & Project Implementation Directorate

Dr Samson Shimelis
Director, Research, Dissemination & Project Implementation Directorate
Email:samata2000@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-776734

Ecosystem Directorate

Dr Girma Eshetu
Director, Ecosystem Directorate
Email:girma.eshetu@gmail.com
Mobile+251-910-163950

EBI Support Directorates
Head of Director General Office

Mequanent Eyayu
Head of Director General Office
Emailmeqfbd@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-912-196891

Ethics and Anti-Corruption Directorate

Lulseged Abebe
Director, Ethics and Anti-Corruption Directorate
Emaillulsegedbelayneh@yahoo.com
Mobile: +251-911-647671

Human Resource Devt. & Administration Directorate

Endris Hassen
Director, Human Resource Devt. & Administration Directorate
Emailendris.hassen@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-911-875034

Information Communication Technology Directorate

Tewodros Worku
Director, Information Communication Technology Directorate
Emailtewodros.worku@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-911-098586

Internal Audit Directorate

Tamrat Mulugeta
Director, Internal Audit Directorate
Emailtamemulu@yahoo.com
Mobile: +251-911-186015

Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation Directorate

Masresha Ymane
Director, Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation Directorate
Emailmasresha.ymane@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-933-918219

Procurement Finance & Asset Management Directorate

Asebe Negash
Director, Procurement Finance & Asset Management Directorate
Emailasbenegash@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-120153

Public Relation & Communication Directorate

Befekadu Kefelegn
Director, Public Relation & Communication Directorate
Emailbefekadukt@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-913-443346

Asset Management and General Service Directorate

Belachew Worku
Director, Asset Management and General Service Directorate
Email: belachewwb8017@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-920-911874

Reform & Good Governance Directorate

Hiwot Befekadu
Director, Reform & Good Governance Directorate
Emailhiwot.befekadu@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-947-902848

Women children and Youth Directorate

Almaz Kebede
Director, Women children and Youth Directorate
Emailalmazkeb4@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-922-853554

EBI Biodiversity Centers and Botanical Gardens

Asosa Biodiversity Center

Dereje Mosissa
Director, Asosa Biodiversity Center
Emailderament5964@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-949-505846

Bahirdar Biodiversity Center

Desalegne Taye
Director, Bahirdar Biodiversity Center
Emailtayedessalegn@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-918-782505

Fiche Biodiversity Gene-bank

Asnakech Senbeta
Director, Fiche Biodiversity Gene-bank
Emailasne.senbeta@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-984-993140

Goba Biodiversity Center

Benti Ofga
Director, Goba Biodiversity Center
Emailbentiofga@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-913-171068

Harar Biodiversity Center

Solomon Mengistu
Director, Harar Biodiversity Center
Emailsolomon.mengistu@ebi.gov.et
Mobile: +251-923-761477

Hawassa Biodiversity Center

Alemnew Muchie
Director, Hawassa Biodiversity Center
Emailmuchiealex@yahoo.com
Mobile: +251-918-027486

Jimma Botanical Garden

Tokuma Urgessa
Director, Jimma Botanical Garden
Email: jamberehrgessa@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-935-927676

Mekelle Biodiversity Center

Mebrahtom Mesfin (PhD)
Director, Mekelle Biodiversity Center
Emailtatomchik@yahoo.com
Mobile: +251-946-901414

Mettu Biodiversity Center

Derebe Terefe
Director, Mettu Biodiversity Center
Emaildirelove6@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-929-478836

Shashemene Botanical Garden

Mezemir Girma
Director, Shashemene Botanical Garden
Emailmezemirg@gmail.com
Mobile: +251-911-991615